Chewy Lemon Cookies


Because I had freshly picked lemons from my daughter’s tree, and because someone needed these, I baked these this week. Makes 3 dozen large cookies.

4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 sticks (8 oz) of unsalted butter, melted and cooled

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs + 2 egg yolks, at room temperature

4 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

4 teaspoons freshly grated lemon zest/rind

2  teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. (NOTE: I actually increased the cooking temp to 350 part way through, because I saw no browning on edges – might work at 325 in your oven – try it).

Mix flour, baking soda and salt and set aside. (I sift them together for lightness)

In a large bowl, add cooled, melted butter and whisk sugar into it until smooth. Add in egg and egg yolk, mixing to combine, then whisk in vanilla extract, lemon juice and lemon zest. Stir in dry ingredients, mixing until a dough forms. If needed, use your hands to create the dough (I did).  If it is too sticky, add in a bit more flour (up to another 1/4 cup).

Using a small ice cream spoon, scoop the dough into golf-ball sized balls and place on a baking sheet 2 inches apart. (I did not push them flat).  Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until middle is just set and edges are slightly golden.  If you have two pans in the oven, rotate them and switch top and bottom rack, halfway through cooking.  Cool on a cooling rack.  Freezes well.

Optional:  I would think that a lemon juice confectioner’s sugar icing would enhance these, and a few tasters suggested that!

Adapted from a recipe on howsweeteats.com – I changed the temp, the baking time, doubled her quantities, and left out one ingredient (lemon extract), because I didn’t have any!

2 Comments on “Chewy Lemon Cookies”

  1. Bianca says:

    Mine definitely didn’t look like the cookies in the picture. But I added lavender sea salt (which has lavender bits in it) as well as crushed lavender and it was amazing! I didn’t have any vanilla so I had to compensate. I’m glad I did!

  2. JGreen says:

    These were just okay. I think I did something wrong because they were borderline tough rather than chewy, and they never flattened out. They also weren’t quite lemony or sweet enough for me, it was more like a lemon scented sugar cookie. I probably should have rolled them in a mixture of lemon zest and sugar before I placed them.

    They also never flattened out, so they kind of look like dinosaur rocks. Pretty dinosaur rocks, but dinosaur rocks nevertheless.

    I added about a cup of toasted, shredded coconut to this as well. I don’t know if that addition had anything to do with it.


Leave a Reply

