Avocado on Bread

I don’t know how it took me this long to figure this out, but avocado makes a great substitute for butter!  Last night, I had a half ripe avocado in the fridge, and I was about to add it into salad, but thought, wait, what if I just spread this on the olive loaf slices going along with the salad?  I guess we eat guac on chips all the time, but I never really just used avocado as a sub for butter.

It was delicious!

You might just guess that avocado is a heckuva lot healthier than butter, and here’s a table (from an avocado industry group) that shows just how much healthier.

This amazingly simple idea will be part of my kitchen routine from now on!

3 Comments on “Avocado on Bread”

  1. Robbi Nester says:

    Absolutely. I love it with turkey bacon too–preferably the low sodium variety.

  2. Elyssa says:

    Mark, try it on Matzoh with a little salt and pepper. You’ll be set for Passover!


Leave a Reply

