World’s 50 Best Restaurants

I am not particularly a world traveler, and on the 2012 list of the top 50 Restaurants in the World alas, there is not one I’ve been to!  Of course, most are outside the US, and there are almost none in CA! The list and event is published and organized by the team at Restaurant magazine, part of William Reed Business Media Ltd.  This is the 11th year of the awards.

I am proud to say I was at restaurant #80 – Viajante (they do show the runners-up, the 51-100 list).  Viajante is a newcomer to this rarified circle.  I wrote a detailed report of our wonderful tasting menu experience at Viajante in London. , almost 2 years ago, when it was still “up and coming.”  There are 3 more restaurants in the top 100 that are in London, which I will visit again in July, so I may be able to report on another gastronomic triumph.

But in the meantime, can you imagine a restaurant holding onto the number one spot on a list like this, three years in a row?  Noma in Copenhagen hold this position.  I’d love to book a flight and try this out!  Look at some of their incredible food:

We can dream, perchance to dine, right?

 

Leave a Reply

