Baked Stuffed Portabello

Baked stuffed portabello

I came home at 9 pm last night, starving after a workout.  Looked in the fridge for something hearty that I could make QUICKLY.  I found the following ingredients:

2 large portabello mushrooms (about 4-5″ diameter)

1/4 rotisserie chicken

Shredded Italian cheese

Avocado

I preheated my toaster oven to 425 while prepping:  Took off the stems and removed the gills from the mushroom (I use a grapefruit spoon to scrape these out).  I drizzled olive oil over the inside of the mushrooms, and shredded the chicken into the mushroom cavity.  Sliced up one whole avocado over the chicken (1/2 avocado on each mushroom).  Topped with cheese.  I will admit I used a lot – probably 2 oz. per mushroom, but you could use less.  Baked for 8-10 minutes, until cheese is browning.  Freshly ground cracked pepper on top.

This was SO EASY and FAST.

Next time I would do one or two things differently.  I would turn the mushroom upside down and bake it for 5 minutes before stuffing it.  Oddly, one of the two mushrooms (both identical size and thickness) was perfectly tender, but the other one could have used more cooking.  If I had pesto sauce handy, I might toss the chicken in the pesto, add some chopped sun-dried tomatoes, then the cheese.  Might omit the avocado if I had other interesting ingredients.

Basically, this is an open-faced grilled sandwich, but with mushroom instead of bread.  The mushrooms and avocado are full of minerals that are a great replenishment after a workout, so it turns out this was an ideal healthy snack.  Just random stuff from the fridge!

Leave a Reply

